Reviewed: Birchbox Subscription

IMG_8477

This morning I cancelled my Birchbox subscription. I started it up as a little short-term treat to myself. What’s not to love about a gorgeously decorated box of makeup and skincare goodies delivered direct to your door once a month? I felt like it would be a great idea to learn about some new brands, and ease myself into the skincare and haircare world without breaking the bank. I received seven boxes in total so I thought I’d let you know my thoughts.

For those of you that don’t know, Birchbox is a beauty box subscription service. You can get a box once a month for £12.95 (including postage) with five samples in and often one is full size. There’s an information sheet with all the product details and how to use them in the box, which can be mega helpful when you’re not sure exactly what that oil is for… You can fill out a questionnaire on their website so they can personalise your box for you with questions on your colourings, makeup preferences and how interested you are in skincare, makeup and hair care etc. You can also buy products on their website and reviewing your boxes gives you points to spend on full size items, dangerous!

IMG_8495

(Aren’t they just so perdy?)

For me the beauty profile is the best part (I haven’t tried any other boxes like this so I don’t know if this is normal). I could select that my skin is super pale and that I’m happy to be a bit more adventurous with my makeup (I know, what was I thinking!). One month I got the Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow illuminator and it was a great shade match for me. Another month I got a LOC x Millie Ultra-Gloss lip pencil in the most gorgeous metallic pink shade. Not one I would’ve picked out for myself but I’ve grown to love it. It was good to know that my choices, even though multiple choice, were considered when creating my boxes.

My only qualm is that I now have boxes of these samples that I don’t really use – not because I don’t like them, but because I didn’t use that kind of product in the first place. I’m a bit lazy when it comes to skincare and haircare, although I’m trying desperately to change this. I guess how better than to try out the minis. I don’t think I’ll need to buy any skincare for months!

Having said that though, there have been plenty of products that I’ve really enjoyed, Benefit they’re real! Double the Lip in Lusty Rose and the Nip and Fab colour corrector to name a few. And whilst I used to loathe the idea of a mini – the size never appealed to me – I now find myself really pleased and oddly satisfied with my little collection. So handy to throw in your bag and go.

So if you love finding new and potentially more obscure beauty brands, then I’d definitely recommend signing up. As for if I’ll miss it? I’m not sure I will, but I have definitely enjoyed by subscription for the past 6 months. And I now have some really lovely boxes to store my lipsticks in…

Have you ever tried a beauty subscription box? I’d love to know how you found it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

